About the Media Commission

The Icelandic Media Commission is an independent public authority under the Ministry of Culture and Business Affairs. We work to support media diversity, pluralism, accessibility, freedom of expression and the right to information. We strive in particular to encourage respect for the protection of minors. We also have the task to guide all sectors of the population to enhance media literacy.

Besides regulating both public service and commercial media in Iceland, according the Media Act No 38/2011 and the Act on the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service No 23/2013, the Media Commission also monitors to ensure compliance to the Act on children’s access to films and video games No 62/2006

The Media Commission thus monitors advertising, sponsorship and product placement in Icelandic media. Furthermore it monitors programming that can be harmful for a child’s development and the use of advance warnings in television programming. The Media Commission also issues broadcasting licences in Iceland. Certain information about the media market and media companies must be available to the public according to the Media Law. This information is gathered by the Media Commission and made available on its website. This includes information about media ownership, list of media service providers and their rules on editorial independence.

Here is a registration form in English for media service providers that fall under Icelandic jurisdiction according to the Media Act No 38/2011.

Organization and management

Organization and management

The Minister of Education, Science and Culture appoints five persons to the Media Commission for the terms of four years at a time. Two representatives are appointed in accordance with the nomination by the Supreme Court of Iceland, one in accordance with a nomination by the standing Committee of Rectors of Icelandic Higher Education Institutions and one in accordance with a nomination by the National Union of Icelandic Journalists. The fifth is appointed by the Minister without nomination. Alternates are appointed the same way.

The members of the Media Commission are:
– Einar Hugi Bjarnason, Chair
– María Rún Bjarnadóttir, Vice Chair
– Erla Skúladóttir
– Róbert H. Haraldsson

Björn Vignir Sigurpálsson, representative of the National Union of Icelandic Journalists, resigned from the commission on 2 April 2019. The Union has not nominated another member in his place.

Alternates are:
– Hulda Árnadóttir 
– Marteinn Másson
– Birgir Guðmundsson

Director of the Media Commission:
Elfa Ýr Gylfadóttir, elfa(at)mediacommission.is

Other employees of the Media Commission:
Heiðdís Lilja Magnúsdóttir, Head of Legal Affairs, heiddis(at)mediacommission.is
Anton Emil Ingimarsson, Legal Advisor, anton(at)mediacommission.is
Skúli Bragi Geirdal, Project Manager, skuli(at)mediacommission.is

Contact us

For further information please contact us by e-mail: info(at)mediacommission.is or phone us: +354 415 0415